The SBS Student Blog

Life as a student at Stockholm Business School

Lectures and seminars

Hej allihopa!

This time I thought I’d share some insights on how the teaching is arranged at Stockholm Business School. Basically, we have two kinds of lessons here – lectures and seminars – and they differ quite a bit from each other.

Lectures are teacher-directed presentations and are held for the whole course at the same time. In my current course I believe we are around 200 students in every lecture. Attendance is not monitored so participation is basically voluntary but at least I have tried to attend as many lectures as possible. I’m an auditory learner so I feel for me it’s useful to hear someone explain the things I’ve read in the book. The presentation slides are usually found online afterwards so you can check them out even if you miss a lecture.

Seminars are held in smaller groups, about 25 people in each. The content of the seminars depends on the course but in general they are more interactive than lectures and include discussing the themes of the course and many times also group works. In seminars we also put the things learned during lectures more into practice. For example during my first course, Principles of Marketing, our seminar assignment was to design a marketing plan for a political party in groups of four or five people and then present it to the rest of the group during the last seminar.  During my accounting course we had a smaller task to finish for every seminar and then we went through them together during the seminars. Seminars are often mandatory and missing them will affect your final grade.

The number of lectures and seminars varies from week to week but in general we have about three lectures and one seminar per week and each of them lasts two to three hours. That doesn’t sound like a lot and it really isn’t but it has to remembered that we are expected to do a lot of reading independently at home. The group projects can take quite a bit of time as well so it makes sense to plan how you spend your free time and not leave everything to the last week before the exam. Time management is one of the most important keys to success, that is definitely something I’ve learned during my first university months.

Until next week,

Meri

Comments are closed.