The SBS Student Blog

Life as a student at Stockholm Business School

Winter Activities & Adventures in Sweden

Hello Everyone!

I hope you are all enjoying your holidays.

I have been researching fun activities to do in Sweden in the winter season and I have also been talking to some of my Swedish friends who have recommended several fun activities; some in Stockholm and some outside of the city. I thought I would share my top 3 choices with you, hoping that it may inspire some others to continue exploring Sweden!

1. Visit Lapland

Lapland offers many unique experiences from exploring the Swedish Tundra to going on a Moose, Musk Ox, Wolf, Brown Bear and Reindeer safari. I have never been to Lapland, but I have some friends studying in Umeå this year, so it will be a good opportunity to travel north and join up with them before heading to Lapland! It is also possible to visit Sarek National Park and learn to drive a dogsled. I am looking forward to this especially!

2. Visit Abisko National Park

Abisko National Park is slightly north of Kiruna. This is apparently the best place in Sweden to view to Northern Lights or Aurora Borealis. While the Northern Lights can be seen from anywhere in Northern Sweden, this National Park is supposedly the best viewing point.

3. Sky View from Globen (Ericsson Globe)

There are gondolas that go up and down a track fixed to the side of the Ericsson Globe. These gondolas take you 130 m above sea level for some pretty awesome city views! I am looking forward to coming back after the holidays and checking this attraction out.

I also hope to find somewhere go snowshoeing and cross country skiing! So far it looks like both the National Parks I mentioned above have both of these activities.

If anyone has any other recommendations on what to see and do, let me know! The CBM program is a 2-year master program so there is plenty of time to check out all of Sweden while studying here in Stockholm.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your holidays!

God jul och gott nytt år!

Comments are closed.