The SBS Student Blog

Life as a student at Stockholm Business School

A Guide to Stockholm’s Neighbourhoods

Happy New Year everyone!

Hopfully everyone’s had a good start into the new year. I’ve been in Stockholm for a week now and I have to say, it’s nice to be back! Being away for the first time since moving here made me realise how much I’ve actually grown to love this city. That’s why I thought I’d start this blog-year with a little guide to Stockholm’s neighbourhoods. I know there’s many new students arriving in Stockholm over the next few weeks and I hope this will be a good starting point for everyone beginning to explore this wonderful city.

1. Norrmalm & Vasastan

The absolute centre of Stockholm. Norrmalm is Stockholm’s main commercial district with many shopping opportunities. Here you can find Stockholm’s biggest shopping streets and department stores. This is also Stockholm’s transportation hub as both the main railway station and T-Centralen, a metro station where all the city’s metro lines meet, are located here. Personally, my favourite part of this neigbourhood is a park called Kungsträdgården. It’s a great place to visit any time of the year: it’s really beautiful during the spring when the cherry trees blossom, its outdoor cafes make it a nice hangout spot during the summer and during the winter it offers an ice skating rink. Vasastan, a more residential area, is located west of Norrmalm.

2. Östermalm

With its luxurious shops, expensive restaurants and nightclubs and the highest rents in the city, Östermalm is considered the most exclusive neighbourhood of Stockholm and attracts Stockholm’s most glamorous and elegant crowds. Stureplan, a squire located between Östermalm and Norrmalm, is one of Stockholm’s biggest party centres with its high-end clubs so if you’re looking to put your high heels on and hit the club, this is your place.

3. Gamla Stan

Also known as The Old Town. “The original Stockholm” is without a doubt one of the most beautiful parts of the city and I love walking down its narrow, cobbled street and looking at the old buildings. The area is a tourist attraction in itself but here you can also find attractions like the Nobel Museum and the Royal Palace. Therefore, be prepared for groups of tourists taking pictures and standing in your way, especially in the summer time.

4. Södermalm

This neighbourhood is my personal favourite. As most of my favourite places in the city are located on this island (they probably deserve a post of their own), this is the place where you will most likely find me. A former working-class area, Södermalm is now “the hip neigbourhood” of the city filled with cool cafes and bars and with a more relaxed vibe than Östermalm. There are not so many tourist attractions here but the north-end of the island offers some pretty awesome views over Stockholm.

5. Djurgården

I’ve talked a bit about this green island on this post.

All in all, I feel Stockholm is a diverse city that offers something for everyone. That’s one of the reasons I love it so much.

Until next time,

Meri

Comments are closed.