The SBS Student Blog

Life as a student at Stockholm Business School

Thoughts after the First Semester at SBS

My first semester at Stockholm Business School is almost over. There are no more seminars and no more lectures and all the course assignments have been sent out. The only thing left is the exam tomorrow and then this semester has officially come to an end.

During the fall semester I studied Business Administartion I which consists of four courses: Principles of Marketing, Principles of Accounting, Principles of Finance and Principles of Management. As their name suggests, these are the basic courses of business administration and they provide an overview of the basic ideas and concepts in the field. Some of it has been really interesting, some of it not so much, but all have been important in acquiring a coherent overall picture of how the business world works. Now I also have a pretty good idea of what areas of business are of specific interest to me and what I maybe want to focus more on in the future.

If I think about things that surprised me, I would probably say the number of group projects we had. Every course had a bigger group project or several smaller group assignments. Group work can be frustrating and time consuming but it also teaches you a whole new set of skills that you can’t learn by reading books so I’d say those have been a good additional learning experience. It has also been nice to get some feedback on your work. We got the feedback from our last assignment this course a few days ago and it was nice to notice that we had really improved from the first assignment we had.

As this was my first semester at university and my first months in a new city, you can guess that life hasn’t been all about studying. Meeting new, interesting people and having tons of things to do has been great but balancing between social life and studies can be challenging sometimes. On one hand you would like to build your social circle and get to know your new surroundings, on the other hand you would want to concentrate on your studies as well. I feel that it is possible to do both though, it’s just a matter of managing time, and I think I’ve managed to do that quite well.

Now it’s time to look ahead and start thinking about the spring semester that begins next Monday. Since I’m in the Business Administration and Political Science program and we’re doing  30 ECTS credits a year in both subjects, I will be moving to Frescati campus to study political science for the spring. I’m really looking forward to it as that is the part that originally got me interested in the program. Our mandatory exchange period next fall is also getting closer and it’s time to start thinking about the application process which is also really exciting!

Have a great start of the semester and good luck everyone who still has their exam this week!

Meri

Comments are closed.