The SBS Student Blog

Life as a student at Stockholm Business School

Exchange Planning

Hello everyone!

The application deadline for exchange studies during next fall semester is getting closer. I’m also working on my application at the moment and that’s what I thought I’d write about this week!

I’m doing the Bachelor’s Program in Business Administration and Political Science (BAPS) and for us an exchange semester is mandatory. We are supposed to study intermediate courses in business administration in one of our partner universities during our third semester – that is next fall – which means everyone who started the program this year is applying now. For us the application deadline is 3rd of March whereas master students have until the 15th of March.

Stockholm Business School has partner universities all over the world, the largest number of options being in Europe though. You can check the list of partner universities here. BAPS students have their own placement list in which the options are usually a bit more limited.

The placement is based on a point system where your grades give you points (5 for A, 4 for B, 3 for C etc). In addition you can get 3 extra points for extra-curricular activities within Föreningen Ekonomerna, our student association. The activities granting you the extra points are the Senior Buddy Program or involvement in the International Committee. In addition every applicant must write a motivation letter and if two students’ grades and points are equal, that is what’s taken into consideration. That is what I’ve been trying to start working on now. The placement process should take a few weeks so in a month I might already know where I’m heading next fall, exciting!

I’m already looking forward to the exchange! As an international student studying in Stockholm is already studying abroad but it’s always exciting to see new places, meet new people and get new experiences. And it’s going to be interesting to see how studying in another country differs from studying in here Sweden. It feels a bit weird though to leave now that I’ve just gotten to know the city and the people but then again I know everything will be here waiting for me when I get back after Christmas.

Have a good weekend everyone! And for everyone working on their applications, good luck! 🙂

Comments are closed.