The SBS Student Blog

Life as a student at Stockholm Business School

New year’s resolutions?

2 Comments

As it is the eleventh of January today, the new year has already started. Usually people start the new year with new year’s resolutions: In 2016 I will train more, I will eat less, I will have a healthier lifestyle, I will spend more time with my family. I do not believe in it at all, and well for two reasons:

  1. I think that people should do whatever they feel like doing and that they should be happy with whom they are and with what they are doing. If that means that you will need to change something, then just do it: do not wait for Monday, next week or next month or January 1st, start the next day. If you do not feel like starting the next day, then it means that either your motivation is not strong enough, so the new routine (or so) will not last for a very long time or it means it is not important enough. You should ask yourself the question: “Why do I need to wait until next week?” or even “Why can’t I start now?”. If your answer is “Because ….” you are just trying to find an excuse, hence it is not important enough and maybe you should not even consider doing it. If your answer is “There is no reason”: then it means it is really important to you so you should start right away!
  2. Secondly, I think that new year’s resolutions are too vague: “I will spend more time with my family” or “I will train more”. In business terms: what are the key performance indicators and what are the measures of success? These statements are just vague. In order to make resolutions work you would need to dig deeper and think about an action plan how you are actually going to do it. For example: “I would like to train more” should be made more measurable first into: “I would like to train 4 times per week at the gym”. This goal is measurable and you will be able to break it down into an action plan. Think about how you would be able to achieve your goal: “I will only be able to train on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday evening and Saturday morning” then you would have an idea when you could plan your trips to the gym. In this way the resolution would be measurable and achievable!

Do you have new year’s resolutions? Use an action plan, Ghantt chart or something to make it work!

2 thoughts on “New year’s resolutions?

  1. Dear Mr. Frank-Paul,

    My name is Alex Fernandez and I represent the European Student Placement Agency (ESPA UK). We put in contact international students that have a desire to do an internship abroad with companies within the UK.

    In this precise moment, a worldwide company based in the UK is looking for Swedish speakers to be part of their Retail Marketing & Project Management department through an internship and I would like to kindly ask how we could contact native Swedish students or recent graduates that would be interested in this opportunity.

    Please, feel free to contact me through alex.fernandez@espauk.com or our office number +44(0) 1225 430641.

    Looking forward to hearing from you.

    Best regards,

    Alex. Placements Supervisor.

    • Hi Alex,

      Thank you for your comment! I would refer you to contact our career center if you would like to post post job- or internship ads to our student.

      /Frank-Paul