The SBS Student Blog

Life as a student at Stockholm Business School

The Welcoming Programs at SBS

Hey everyone!

My name is Alexa and I am one of your new student bloggers! I thought I would start off by giving y’all a little introduction about me:

  • I grew up in Texas
  • I am half Swedish
  • I currently study Business Administration and Political Science at SBS
  • I am a huge foodie, with a special love for Tacos
  • & I love meeting new people!

Alexa

In line with my love of meeting new people, I thought I would spend today talking about the Senior Buddy Program at SBS.

The Senior Buddy Program is a welcoming program for new and exchange students at SBS studying in English. It is held at the beginning of every semester, along with the Swedish equivalent of the buddy program, Fadderiet. Both welcoming programs are part of Föreningen Ekonomerna (the business association). They last about five weeks and aim to provide new students with information about the school, advice with settling in, and opportunities to meet new people and make lasting friendships! They also act as a bridge to connecting you with the committees within the business association based off of which parts of business your interests lie in.

In the program, you are put into a themed group (the theme changes every semester, this semester was Disney themed) in which you will have around four buddies for twenty or so students. In your groups you will attends all sorts of fun activities and competitions to earn points for your group team and be able to meet new people! As a newbie in the buddy program, you have the opportunity to attend great parties, formal dinners (known as sittnings here in Sweden) and the final cruise!! If you are completely new to Stockholm, don’t worry! We will help you find your way around campus and the city!

I was a newbie last semester, and loved the program so much that I became a buddy in The Little Mermaid group this semester! Here are some photos of our fun this semester:

IMG_5357

SBP Buddies Spring 2016

Predrinkswithnewbies

Some of us buddies and newbies before heading to the formal dinner

If you want to see some more pictures, check out the Föreningen Ekonomerna vid Stockholms Universtitet page on Facebook (the Business Association at Stockholm University page) and see all of the great times SBP and Fadderiet had this semester!

If you are going to be a new student at SBS, I highly recommend you to get involved with the welcoming programs as you will have the time of your life! I made amazing friends through being both a newbie and a buddy, so I would know! As a new student you will be automatically enrolled, but it is up to you as to how much you would like to be involved!

If you have any questions, feel free to ask in the comments! Have a great day! 🙂

Comments are closed.