The SBS Student Blog

Life as a student at Stockholm Business School

Call a Swede.

Good day!

As I was scrolling through Facebook this morning, I stumbled across a very interesting (read: weird) article published in The Local (which I later found even on Mashable). Let’s have a look at it together.

So basically, you call a magical number – +46 771 793 336 – and you get an answer from “a random Swede”, i.e. a person from Sweden who has signed up for this project via an app.

Why do they do this, you ask? Sweden’s tourist assiciation wants to give Swedish people a possibility to tell their story, share their personal views on certain subjects and even give tips on where to eat and what to see.

I have three questions.

  1. Do people still answer phone calls from unknown numbers?
  2. How is this project going to “promote Sweden abroad”?
  3. Doesn’t this go against about everything you know (or you think you know) about Swedish people?

Let me explain what I mean with the help of some examples from this fantastic tumblr page.

So how will a Swede react when getting a call from a complete stranger?.. We can only speculate, but I think I made my point here more or less.

Despite everything, if you do not currently live in Sweden and would really love to move here to study, I really encourage you to call this number and get your questions answered. Who knows, you may even end up talking to a student at SBS!

Maria

PS. I hope this post didn’t offend anyone as it was most definitely not my intention.
PPS. Swedes are awesome after all.

Comments are closed.