The SBS Student Blog

Life as a student at Stockholm Business School

What it’s like to study at SBS

Hey everyone!

Last Friday I took my flight home to Dallas, Texas as I am doing an internship here with Ericsson this summer. You can check out Stockholm University’s instagram page (@stockholmuniversity) to see my posts as the student guest editor this week where I will be sharing what is going on in my life starting a new job!

 

Today though I still want to reflect on Stockholm and share some photos that I took before leaving. For those of you who are interested in possibly studying at Stockholm Business School or even just Stockholm University in general will get a chance to see what our main campus looks like!

IMG_5938

A shortcut to the library under the trees.

Choosing to do my studies at SBS was the best decision I ever made and I am very proud to show off my school to other people! Living in a big city like Stockholm is great because it isn’t overwhelmingly big. There is endless possibilities of things to do and places to eat, so you will never get bored.

The student life may not be like in a college town, but don’t be fooled that it doesn’t exist! At the beginning of the year I shared with all of you information about the welcoming programs at SBS — this is the beginning of student life with Föreningen Ekonomerna if you are a business student. In addition to this, you also have multiple associations you can join on Frescati campus such as the humanities, science, or social studies associations. These three associations have houses right on campus and they hold events or parties almost every week during the school year. If you are coming as an exchange student, you are bound to hear about Café Bojan located right outside the metro exit. Every Thursday night during the year you will find a party here which provides the perfect opportunity to meet new people and have some fun with friends! Things are pretty calm there until around 8:30 when the tables are moved to become a dance floor and the crowds start arriving. Getting there at 10pm is always busy, so if you don’t want to wait in line I would recommend going before 9:30. For those of you who want something more laid back, I would recommend the Green Villa and Yellow Villa. They are great for being able to sit with your friends and have a conversation while still being in a fun environment.

IMG_5942

A view of one of the science buildings and the fields where many students like to relax on.

 

As for studying in general, be prepared to spend most of your time in the library instead of class! You will most likely only have class 2-4 times a week and most of your work will involve you being responsible and scheduling your time wisely as it is mostly self-study. Estimate about 20-30 hours a week in reading and assignments. I happen to love this system because it gives me the opportunity to be flexible if I need to be and to create my own hours. Taking one class at a time and having an exam every month is also something I particularly like. It allows you to really focus and dig deep into the class you currently study if you want to, and if you happen to not enjoy the class then you will be happy that it is just a month long instead of a semester long!

IMG_5937

The walk up to Södra Huset and the library. 

Group work is very popular here at SBS/SU and Sweden in general. It helps you to learn to work with other people, even when you may not get along with them. It is great preparation for the work place after studies and provides experience. Most of the time you can choose your own partners to work with, but be prepared that sometimes it will be assigned. Not having a lot of class time is supplemented by group meetings along with your self-study. The amount of time you spend in meetings will vary on the project and the group you work with, but it will usually be about 2-6 hours a week depending. Group work also allows you to build relationships with people in your classes and perhaps make some friendships!

Although brief, I hope this was helpful in giving you a little bit of insight into life at SBS… Feel free to ask any questions you may have about studying here and I would be more than happy to answer!

Until next time,

Alexa

Comments are closed.