The SBS Student Blog

Life as a student at Stockholm Business School

My Summer as an Intern (so far)

Hey everyone,

Sorry it has been a while since my last post, I have been settling into my new job as an intern for Ericsson here in Plano, Texas.

As some of you may know from my first post earlier this year, I grew up in Texas – so this is one of the main reasons why I chose to do an internship here this summer. There are many Scandinavians (especially Swedes) in the Dallas area due to Ericsson’s North American headquarters being located here as well as there being locations of other Scandinavian companies. Due to this, I grew up with the parents of many friends having worked for Ericsson. They were always a company I knew of and I was very interested in working for them. Anyone remember those Sony Ericsson flip phones that used to be all the rage? Have you heard of or do you use bluetooth? Well they invented it, which I think is pretty dang cool.

IMG_6044

Inside the main lobby, the most I can show you… Secret work going on in here! 😉

There are many wonderful internships in Stockholm during the summer, so I definitely recommend everyone to do some research in early Spring about what’s available for you (whether it is in English or Swedish) and where you could see yourself. Getting experience during university is a major plus for applying for jobs after you finish your studies, but it also allows you to explore different fields and make sure what you are studying is what you really want to do. However, Stockholm isn’t the only place to intern and expanding your options to include multiple cities for your search will only benefit you!

IMG_0016

It made me happy to see the Swedish flag outside! Unfortunately the wind wasn’t on my side.

Last week was my first official week interning and it went great! Assimilating in was relatively easy and everyone was super friendly towards me. My bosses are really supportive and helpful, which is important for feeling motivated to work. I am super excited to be able to network, learn new things, and get some real work experience while I am interning this summer! It’s also awesome that we get to connect with other interns in different departments because Ericsson has activities for us all to do together. I am really looking forward to doing some management training seminars and volunteering with the other interns. It will definitely be an unforgettable summer even if I will be working hard! It’s worth it!

Version 2

Me in my work attire with my new official badge. I feel so adult.

Some of you may have noticed I was a student guest editor for the Stockholm University Instagram page last week. If so, you will have already seen all of these pictures but I wanted to share them here as well. If you don’t follow the school Instagram page, you are missing out! Go check it out: @stockholmuniversity

IMG_6036

Had to do some shopping last week for corporate attire! Mission accomplished. This is Northpark Mall in Dallas – as they say, everything is bigger in Texas! 

I hope this was helpful to some of you and inspires you all to apply to internships next year! You never know where you will end up or what you will be doing, so why not try new things or apply to that job you never thought you would stand a chance for? Who knows, maybe you are perfect for it!

Until next time,

Alexa

Comments are closed.